Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Safely raising redline and power curve of LS1

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2006, 07:35 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Safely raising redline and power curve of LS1

Hello all. For a little background info on myself, I have been building turbo rotaries for the past ~6-7 years or so, and am now looking to do a LS1 swap into my '94 Rx-7. I must admit that I dont have a ton of experience with these engines, which is why I am here for advice. I would like to raise the power curve of the LS1 up to be safely making power at ~7k rpm. With the 4.10 rear end in the Rx-7 ( that I would like to keep), it winds the LS1 out fairly quickly. I dont mind spending the money on a good head and cam setup that will do what I want, but I just would like to be pointed in the direction of what to look for. I dont want to be worried about bending pushrods or valve float pushing higher RPM. Also I would like a setup that will still pass emissions. Thanks for any advice. I have also attached a picture of my FD that this will all be going into.

Old 05-22-2006, 07:47 PM
TECH Resident

To run 7k you'll need upgraded pushrods, valve springs, and rod bolts. Valves and connecting rods should hold up fine.

You'll also want to make sure you get a cam that makes power up there.
Old 05-22-2006, 07:53 PM
Staging Lane

Thank you, any advice as to what brands would be the best to buy? Im still looking into a head/cam setup that will pull that high, while still being drivable and putting down the power I want (450-500rwhp).
Old 05-22-2006, 08:04 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by Rxmfn7