Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need my ls1 built or a new block

Old 08-01-2008, 08:11 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need my ls1 built or a new block

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Newbie here! Please help! Alright guys my 99 ta needs a rebuild trying too decide what too do. Should i rebuild my engine or get a new block with the internals? Im looking too try too get close too 500-600 at the flywheel? What size should or need too go. Im sorta on a tight budget but i want stuff thats not going too break, prefer forged internals. What size do i have too go too get these numbers? I have heard iron block is the way too go but i have my ls1 motor so i dont know. Im going too put a fast intake-throttle body, msd coils-wires, headers on the motor so i know thats alittle horsepower. May put a super or procharger on the motor down the road. Where is the best place too get a motor and kit if needed and on the cheaper route but good. Please let me know what i need too do and what i should do. I live in Celina, Ohio 45822 if that helps at all. Thanks for helping, ramair1999@hotmail.com
Old 08-01-2008, 08:48 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

contact bob at exotic performance plus......link is in my sig
Old 08-01-2008, 08:51 PM
TECH Fanatic

well your stock crank and block will be good for 1000 horsepower but you should upgrade your pistons and rods. Also you will not need the msd coils because they will only hold you back a tiny bit at that power level. Nitrous seems to be your best route with forged rods pistons. Do alot of reading on here use the search button that should help a ton.
Old 08-01-2008, 09:12 PM
9 Second Club

I agree on not getting the coils, good product maybe, but WAY expensive, and i can nearly bet you won't notice any difference at that power level...
Old 08-01-2008, 11:38 PM
Teching In