Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

Working for GM...

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2006, 11:22 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Working for GM...

Hey guys, first post here...looks like a great site. I have a question that I'm not sure anyone can answer, but hopefully someone around here can. I'm about to graduate from college (I'm a mechanical engineer at GA Tech), and I just got an offer for a job from GM Powertrain up in Detroit. I don't know if I'm going to take it or not, but I want to know if anyone here has worked for them, and what the culture is like there. I did a tour of the proving grounds and some engine testing facilities, but I didn't get a good feel for what it would be like to actually work there. Any insight? Thanks in advance.

Last edited by dbrunone; 12-11-2006 at 11:43 AM.
Old 12-11-2006, 11:34 AM
TECH Apprentice

Damn, I wish I had the opportunity to take that job. I'm sure you'd enjoy it.
Old 12-11-2006, 11:39 AM
12 Second Club

take it so all of ls1 tech can have the hook up
Old 12-11-2006, 09:00 PM
TECH Fanatic

Welcome. I have no idea what the work will be like, I just hope you' re ready for some cold *** temps and a WHOLE lot of crime being in Detroit.
Old 12-11-2006, 10:49 PM
LS1Tech Co-Founder

Received 46 Likes on 19 Posts

Send a PM to Matt Harlan, y2khawk, he is a moderator here and works for GM in their computer/diagnostics area. Probably has some good insight about the other departments also.

I wanted to work for GM when I graduated Mech Eng. too, but the oil/gas industry paid way more and the weather down here is much nicer.
Old 12-12-2006, 12:51 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Nine Ball
Send a PM to Matt Harlan, y2khawk, he is a moderator here and works for GM in their computer/diagnostics area. Probably has some good insight about the other departments also.