LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Hey guys newbie here with a dry sump question

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2009, 06:31 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hey guys newbie here with a dry sump question

Im working out the details of an extensive swap I hope to get underway soon. Ill be putting an lt1 into a 6 series bmw. One of the issues Im having to figure out is the lubrication system. If I keep the factory style oil pan I have to swap to rack and pinion steering. I think the cars handles very well as is so Id rather not go to that extent. If I keep the old style steering I must cut the pan in about twenty different places to get around everything. Or I could do a dry sump set up. However Ive never done anything like that and am not really sure how it works. All the advertisers that sell kits though say the dry sump system is for COMPETITION ONLY, is it really or are they just saying that because it requires more care?

Any help you guys can give me will be very appreciated.

-Webb
Old 12-24-2009, 07:20 PM
11 Second Club

Received 157 Likes on 120 Posts

A dry Sump System is a great setup of you are all over in the corners, other than that I wouldn't waste the time and the money.

How a Dry-sump works is pretty simple..I'm going to explain it with how the LS7 is setup. There are two Oil Pumps in the setup. The first Oil Pump lubricates the Engine just like any normal setup, however the Oil that drains back into the Pan while in operation is sucked out by the second Oil Pump. That pumps it to an external Oil Tank, where the First Pump sucks it out of and sends it through the Engine, eventually back into the Pan..etc.

Also that's why if you look closely at an LS7 there is no Oil Dip Stick..
Old 12-24-2009, 08:49 PM
TECH Regular

Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts