LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Help with Build !?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2012, 04:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with Build !?

I'm a newbie, going to buy a Z28 VERY soon as a project and have some (probably stupid) questions.

First question.

My plans for the car are to turbo it, and I understand I will need all the supporting upgrades, and the first of my questions are bottom-end related.

What all will I need to do to the bottom end to support a final HP goal of around 450-500 hp (turbocharged)? Such as forged pistons, pushrods ect. ect. ??

I plan on doing all the internal work now, and the turbo after I can save some money back up. So I would like to have everything inside setup and ready to go.

Second question.

Is my goal (450-500 hp) attainable with out implementing a 355 or 383 stroker kit??

Assume that I know nothing with in your responses as this build is a learning experience for me, and I want to learn as much as possible!
Old 09-24-2012, 05:57 PM
TECH Regular

With a 10.4 to 1 stock compression ratio, the amount of boost you are able to run on a stock short block is limited before head gaskets and detonation becomes a problem. Plenty of builds out there on the net that have already been done. Just mirror the build that best suits your wants.
Old 09-24-2012, 06:05 PM
Man-Crush Warning

Received 120 Likes on 89 Posts

Internal work, but no 355/383? Da faq you gonna do then?
Old 09-24-2012, 08:01 PM
12 Second Club

Received 46 Likes on 32 Posts

You need to start with a search, type "turbo stock LT1" in the search bar and start there.
Old 09-24-2012, 08:23 PM

Originally Posted by Shownomercy
Internal work, but no 355/383? Da faq you gonna do then?
I was thinking about the LE2 set-up, and all forged parts on the bottom end. Would it just be pointless to tear everything apart and not go with a 355/383 kit?