LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

New to LT1 Chevy scene . Ford guy . Need advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2017, 08:01 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to LT1 Chevy scene . Ford guy . Need advice

I just traded an ar15 for a 93 firebird formula . Has the LT1 with a t56 in it. The car was originally an auto and swapped . Unfortunately the guy that had it before me appears to have been a hack of a mechanic. I am a tech for a living and work for Ford so will be doing all the work myself. As far as I know it has long tubes , no cats , egr block off , looks like an off brand cold air intake . Has two air filters . I would assume factory rear gear . Dash is all cracked and didn't change center console when changed trans so the console is all hacked. I would love to make the car back right in all ways and work on making it into a 10 second beast. Supposedly it has been rebuilt and bored .30 over with a mild cam but has no receipts and idles like a stock v8 so I'm not so sure on that. Any advice on programming the ecm for the mods it has and the mods I should do? I like the car and would like to try and keep it and have fun but I am a Ford guy and had great luck with mustangs and a lightning. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also it has a grind going into second of shift fast which I assume is a syncro
Old 07-23-2017, 11:31 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 87 Likes on 78 Posts

...a 25 year old car that has likely been through several owners and modifications....we don't know WTF the car has in terms of engine mods, gears, programming let alone how well any of these potential modifications were done.

you are going to have to dig into what you have and in terms of motor, tear it down to see what it is

rear gear...jack up rear end and turn tire one revolution while counting how many times the DS rotates. Something like 3 1/2 turns would be 3:42, 3 3/4 turns would be 3:73, etc.