LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Can somone explain this opti spark to me?

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2008, 10:12 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can somone explain this opti spark to me?

Ok ive been trying to read up on this but i dont know what all the hype is about it and about how bad it is. i have a 95 and it is vented supposably. what is the benifit in having a vented one compared to the other years. also can somone explain opti spark to me, how it works? i came from a 04 mustang that had coil on spark system. what is the downfalls/perks of this sysem? what do people hate it so much? what can be done to improve it?

thanks, im a Lt1 newb.....
Old 02-20-2008, 10:32 PM
TECH Regular

opti spark is an optical distributor. It is mounted underneath the waterpump. They usually fail because of moisture getting in or because they can not handle the voltage going through it (high rpm motors). You can get vented to help the moisture escape. You can also convert it to a Ls1 style coil pack ignition system. Probably around 1000 to do that. Thats the basics from what I know hopefully someone can elaborate.
Old 02-20-2008, 10:33 PM
On The Tree

In LAYMAN's terms-

The opti is known for its small cunthair sized slices in the reluctor ring getting jammed up with slag from the arcing of the spark to 8 cylinders. The vented design was created to minimize the gasses and such. Other than that the main problem with the OPTI is the location as oil and coolant leaks account for 75% of the OPTI failures I see.
Old 02-21-2008, 01:42 AM
Staging Lane

stock opti SUCKS, throw it in the trash, the msd replacement is a great upgrade for an lt1 car, i highly recomend it especially for a modded lt1
Old 02-21-2008, 02:16 AM
TECH Resident

basically the opti gets a bad rep for several reasons
1) the water pump fails and pour coolant on it from the weep-hole