LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Need Help, 94 A4 Z28 Won't Shift Under Wot, And aAdvice With Tunercat

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2008, 01:51 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help, 94 A4 Z28 Won't Shift Under Wot, And aAdvice With Tunercat

Hello guys. I'm trying to tune my brother's car via Tunercat. However, the first thing that needs to be done is get it to shift. Under WOT, the car will not shift in any gear (1 to 2, 2 to 3, 3 to 4). I'm new to tunercat, so I don't know if I changed all of the shift tables correctly, but from everything I'm seeing-they're correct. So I need help. 1.) Can someone tell me which tables should be changed for this car to shift at 5500rpm? 2.) Can you guys tell me some things to troubleshoot as to why it won't shift? 3.) Can you point me to a good site that can help a newbie out with tuning via tunercat? Thanks in advance for all of the help. I'm trying to help my brother out, as it's very frustrating that the car won't shift. Here's his mods:

CAI (Through scoop in SS hood)
mac headers with stock y-pipe and cats
flowmaster cat-back
3:73 gears
basic tune
The car has 245/40/18 tires in the rear, 245/40/17 in the front
shift kit

The car feels like it's sort of "cutting out" at around 4K rpms (don't know if that has to do with the opti), and won't shift. It'll get to 5K rpms, the car will "buck" and make a loud knocking sound. If we let off, and then get back into it, it will shift. Any ideas?
Old 07-14-2008, 12:15 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 46 Likes on 35 Posts

Originally Posted by Bad06SS
The car feels like it's sort of "cutting out" at around 4K rpms (don't know if that has to do with the opti), and won't shift. It'll get to 5K rpms, the car will "buck" and make a loud knocking sound. If we let off, and then get back into it, it will shift. Any ideas?
It sounds like you have an actual problem that is not just tuning related.
Old 07-14-2008, 06:25 AM
TECH Addict