Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Clutch bleeding question

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2013, 01:24 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Clutch bleeding question

I have a gm clutch master in my t/a . I removed the master to do the drill mod.I did a bench bleed before I re- installed the master. I noticed the clutch pedal seems a little spongy on the first inch of travel from the top.
I have seen some posts about bleeding just the spongy part. I am confused about how to bleed this out. Do I open the bleeder than push the clutch down an inch than close it? Exactly how do I do this. Can someone explain it to me?
Old 04-24-2013, 10:29 AM
TECH Fanatic

I just went through this a few nights ago. I got a good solid firm pedal but the top 1/2 inch was squishy. I spent a LONG time just bleeding the squishy part just like you explained. Put slight pressure on the pedal, crack the bleeder, push down the pedal an inch, close the bleeder right when I got to an inch, slowly pull the pedal back up to the top from that inch. When I pulled it up I could hear the fluid getting sucked into the master from the fluid resavior but could never get rid of that little half inch at the top.

I looked up at the master cyclinder under the dash at the part where the rod slides into and out of the master and noticed if I wiggled the pedal up and down that half inch while watching, the little rubber diaphram right where the rod goes in to the master kinda flexes a bit up and down as the rod goes in and out. Seeing this I assumed with the stock master there must be a little variance/tolerance part there that is never going to let your pedal get 100% firm all the way to the very top. I think if you have a Tick Master you can get rid of the top little squishy portion, but not with the stock master.
Old 04-24-2013, 10:30 AM
TECH Fanatic