Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Short shifter options for a drift car

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2014, 09:34 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Short shifter options for a drift car

Hello all

I've searched a lot for a short shifter for my T56. I can't seem to find an exact answer. I'm very new to the LS1 game and all, and have always been with Japanese cars. I have a 240SX and basically just want a awesome shifter. I had a B&M on my car and loved it a lot, but now I'm onto a different transmission with a lot more options.

I'm trying to find a shifter that will be an awesome short shifter and make my life finding gears a lot easier. While drifting you are constantly between 2nd gear, 3rd gear, and 4th gear. I want to have a great shifter that'll do its just. I've done a lot of searching and can't seem to find a solid all around one.

The main ones I've noticed that are popular:

B&M Ripper
Hurst Billet
Pro 5.0
MGW

I really don't know which one to go between. Some input would be awesome and hopefully I can run into someone that may have this in their drift car.
Old 12-19-2014, 07:07 AM
TECH Resident

I'm not sure whats really best for drifting, but when it comes to good shifting in general the general consensus on this forum is that MGW beats all. And I agree cause mine is freakin great.
Old 12-20-2014, 01:58 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by badformulaLS1
I'm not sure whats really best for drifting, but when it comes to good shifting in general the general consensus on this forum is that MGW beats all. And I agree cause mine is freakin great.
It seems like that. I'm in such a big debate between the Hurst Billet and the MGW and I'm about to order one this weekend. So I'm trying to end this debate soon.