Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Quartermaster 7.25" clutch ?s

Old 01-06-2008, 08:06 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Quartermaster 7.25" clutch ?s

I bought a used t56 with a quartermaster 7.25" setup.I have a mccleod master cylinder and am wondering if this is usable.All my research shows I need a 3/4" master.I was also told it could be used on my ls1, but the special flywheel it came with is too small.I believe it is for an lt1.It also came with an automatic flywheel for an lt1.Could I use an automatic flywheel for an ls1 for this?If so, do I need longer studs to bolt up the clutch to flywheel or do I have to purchase the special flywheel from quartermaster?
Old 01-10-2008, 11:39 AM
Staging Lane

I also trying to put together a QM 7.25 setup on my LS1. You can use an LS1 flexplate, but will need a the 7.25 button flywheel from QM and some longer flywheel bolts from them. Not sure on the master cylinder size, I think I'm going to try 3/4".

These are the pn# I'm using

7.25 button flywheel 509127
LSx flyhweel bolt kit 505007

Give them a call and they can confirm, and also point you to a distributor nearby. http://racingclutches.com/
Old 01-12-2008, 11:12 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1,386 Likes on 875 Posts

I don't think that the 509127 button will work inside the T56 bellhousing. It positions the clutch too far back since it was originally designed for a reverse mount arrangement.

I called them last week and they have a new one piece, billet, stock diameter, 168 tooth flywheel. They should be in stock in a week or so. Just went out for heat treat. This flywheel is built similar to all of their cup parts. Should be about 13 pounds. It will accommodate both a 7.25" clutch setup and the 8.5" clutch setup.

Here are some pictures of an older flywheel that I was using in my RX7 with a single disk 8.5" clutch.

Flywheel:

Clutch cover, flipped upside down: