Midwestern Members IA, IL, IN , KY, MI, MN, MO, NE, OH, WI, KS, OK

May be moving to Missouri next summer

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2008, 04:24 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 56 Likes on 46 Posts

Default May be moving to Missouri next summer

My daughter lives in Springfield, so I'd like to be within 1-2 hours of there. I've heard you're either within an hour, or you need to jump to 2.5 hours, there's not much in between. I'm a senior network engineer but it doesn't seem like there's much close in that field unless I head towards Columbia?

I grew up in NE Iowa, so I'm familiar with the winter weather, although it's been almost 15 years. Looking for feedback on what to put on my checklist for the potential move, things to consider, etc. I'll definitely need a different winter vehicle though. Housing seems inexpensive compared to Florida.

Oh, do you require front license plates, annual inspection, what window tint is allowed and/or anything else which might vary state-to-state? How easy it is it to bypass some or all of these checks?

Thanks!
Old 11-21-2008, 10:21 AM
10 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Welcome in advance, Jim. Front license plates are mandatory and inspection is required every two years. Side window tint is a big no-no here, but usually is not enforced if they can see through it. I would say in the Springfield area that they probably do emissions testing, but they do not over here (yet). As far as winter weather, it is only really cold about a month out of the year, but not like you are used to in NE Iowa. It only snows enough over here to shut down the schools about 3 or 4 days a year. I would say you should not have trouble finding work over there, as the Springfield area is probably the fastest growing part of the state. Housing is inexpensive compared to Florida and now is probably the time to buy since the market is in a slump. Good luck, I think you will like Missouri.
Mike
Old 11-21-2008, 01:27 PM
Teching In