Midwestern Members IA, IL, IN , KY, MI, MN, MO, NE, OH, WI, KS, OK

snow+RWD??

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2007, 03:55 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default snow+RWD??

Alright so I'm only 18, and I can admit that I don't have as much driving experience as most of you guys do, but I wouldn't say that I'm a bad driver by any means. I just moved to IL from FL, and I want to buy another LS1 car (sold my last) but I'm scared of having to drive it in the winter.

I want to buy a M6 and I'm guessing those are even worse in the snow, and I have very limited driving experience on manual cars. If I bought a car it wouldn't be during winter, so at the very least I could familiarize myself with a RWD M6 before winter rolled along, but should I... or should I be smarter and buy a FWD econobox?
Old 02-13-2007, 04:19 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if you decide to buy a fwd econobox you could buy my 2000 Cavalier Z24
Old 02-13-2007, 04:28 PM
TECH Addict

It's not that bad. I just got home from driving my Z28 in the snow. Just drive smart and you'll be fine. Remember, back in the day all they drove were RWD cars and they were by no means as good as ours.
Old 02-13-2007, 04:34 PM
TECH Fanatic

budget yourself properly.

buy an affordable ls1 after this winter but budget yourself for a fwd pos for next winter.

I drive and race autox. No matter how good you drive in the winter, f-body cars get stuck easy, slide easy and can barely make it up hills. Its not worth the frustration or the chance or spinning out or worse another driver hitting the ls1 car you love..

In fact today I saw three stuck lt1/ls1 f-bods and 1 that couldnt get up a hill. Sucks for them, where as mine is warm in the garage, while I drive a 4x4 rodeo that I scored for $1500
Old 02-13-2007, 05:10 PM
Staging Lane