Military Hotrod Club For our members in the Armed Forces

Considering joining Army (OCS)

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2010, 08:27 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Considering joining Army (OCS)

Hello all,

I'm a 25-year old college graduate with a BA in History / minor in Sociology. I've considered going military all my life, but started seriously considering it after college (yeah, dumb, since Uncle Sam would have paid my tuition). What has mainly stopped me from signing up was having a girlfriend for nearly 10 years (since I was 16). I always assumed that I'd marry this girl and start a family and that pretty much kept me here. Unfortunately, we ended things a couple of weeks ago. I've also been laid off from my job and it's been pretty hard finding another one. Things are looking pretty free for me in the near future, so I'm reconsidering one of my personal dreams of joining the Army. Both of my grandfathers served, with one being an Army infantryman in WW2 and the other serving in Korea as an Army infantryman, and I grew up hearing Army stories from them. OCS and Army infantry would be the goal for me, but if I washed out of OCS then I would still enlist without a doubt with the goal of becoming an Army infantryman.

Now, here are the problems.

Number one, I blew out my knee late last year and just had reconstructive surgery. It's not possible for me to join right now, obviously, since I'm still rehabbing and can't run or do much of anything. I've been assured by my surgeon and physical therapist that I'll return to my previous level of physical activity (I was a regular runner and trained Brazilian jiu jitsu). Do you guys think this will possibly jeopardize my chances of being recruited and being able to graduate from OCS?