Military Hotrod Club For our members in the Armed Forces

curious...any fighter pilots?

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2011, 05:26 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default curious...any fighter pilots?

As the title suggests...are there any fighter/ ex fighter pilots here? I'm curious, because I've always wanted to be one, and after I graduated high school I've been thinking of doing Air Force ROTC and going on from there. My only physical issue is eye sight, but from what I here the Air Force allows certain types of correction.

Any advice on what its like and what to expect are welcome.
Old 07-29-2011, 01:06 AM
10 Second Club

Received 56 Likes on 49 Posts

No eye anything for fighter anything. Period.
Old 07-29-2011, 10:40 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by DietCoke
No eye anything for fighter anything. Period.
What?

The AF allows up to 20/70 uncorrected as long as you are correctable to 20/20. Anything beyond 20/70 requires a waiver. Fighter pilots don't have any more stringent vision standards than UAV pilots (assuming we're talking winged pilots).
Old 07-30-2011, 09:48 AM
TECH Apprentice

^^Thank you, I believe I mentioned something like that in the original post as well.
Old 07-30-2011, 05:37 PM
10 Second Club

The general flight physical is 20/70 corrected to 20/20
Navy/marine flight is 20/40 corrected to 20/20

To actually fly a FIGHTER JET is 20/20 uncorrected, no exceptions.
Old 07-31-2011, 05:21 PM
TECH Fanatic

The general flight physical is 20/70 corrected to 20/20
Navy/marine flight is 20/40 corrected to 20/20

To actually fly a FIGHTER JET is 20/20 uncorrected, no exceptions.
I'm assuming the 20/20 uncorrected rule you're speaking of is a Navy/Marine thing, because that is definitely not the case in the AF.
Old 07-31-2011, 10:18 PM
NKAWTG...N

Or you can just get PRK and be done with it.
Old 08-01-2011, 04:12 PM
10 Second Club

Originally Posted by StoleIt
Or you can just get PRK and be done with it.