Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"Debaffling" the hood vents area

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2003, 12:11 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default "Debaffling" the hood vents area

I am new to this but i think the word is "Debaffling", meaning taking out plastic pieces in the hood scoop vent area to allow a direct air flow into the filter. If you look directly into your hood vents on your ram air equipped car it looks completely blocked off, WHY? Why did GM do this, has anyone debaffled theirs, i just ripped out the bottom piece and left the top for a rain guard. I know people have done this but have you taken out all of that crap? And if so have you had a problem with rain getting in?
Old 11-12-2003, 10:43 AM
TECH Resident

Hey Rocco,
Yes Debaffling is correct.
I have had mine debaffled for a year or so. I removed both front and rear baffles. I do have a set of rain guards I put in if I take the car through a car wash or drive in heavy rain. butI have been caught in light to normal rain many times and have had a dry filter, when I checked. NOW when it is raining I drive very conservitly. no rpm pulls above 2.5 to 3K but below 2.5 if I can.

You WILL see an improvement in you MPG and you throttle response will be better.
If you do decide to do it let me know I give ya a few tips, and some info on the shields.

Pete

Last edited by killer01ws6; 12-01-2003 at 10:34 AM.
Old 11-12-2003, 01:54 PM
TECH Apprentice

See mine in album 1 through link in sig.
Old 11-12-2003, 07:52 PM
On The Tree

would it make sense to just leave the top piece inside the hood vent instead of ripping it out, that could act as a rain guard already installed. Or should i just cut it out? there is already a straight shot to the filter, let me know what you guys have done.
Old 11-13-2003, 11:55 AM
On The Tree