New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Catback vs. muffler only

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2009, 03:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Catback vs. muffler only

What, if any, are the advantages of a catback system vs just replacing the muffler? I have a Flowmaster muffler right now that has got to go. I want a Magnaflow or something with decent sound and good flow. But I don't want the tips sticking out the back, so i can't see spending $400+ on something that I'm only going to use part of.
Old 08-11-2009, 05:16 PM
TECH Regular

Just get a cat back. I'm on a budget but want my car to be louder, so I'm looking at used ones. There are some killer deals out there. Just be careful and get lots of pics of all the parts.
Old 08-12-2009, 12:27 AM
12 Second Club

the biggest advantage to a catback vs just replacing the muffler is getting all the pipes that come with the catback because there mandrel bent and sometimes bigger in diameter
Old 08-12-2009, 12:40 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

have you looked at going with a true dual setup??

or you can do a bullet muffler and dump it after the y pipe, and lose the catback. cheap and sounds good.
Old 08-12-2009, 01:01 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I custom built my catback. All the piping was 75 bucks. I bought a used Magnaflow muffler off of a member on here for 30 bucks. I just ran it like that with no tips for a long time. I just recently puts some dual dual tips on and that was about 120.
Old 08-12-2009, 08:11 AM

go cat back less restriction
Old 08-12-2009, 11:01 AM
TECH Fanatic

^ less restriction with catback, hows that?
Old 08-12-2009, 11:05 AM
12 Second Club

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

I say weld in the muffler or your choice
Old 08-12-2009, 11:39 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by nomoneyz