Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Total LS1 newb...help!

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2010, 08:01 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Total LS1 newb...help!

Ok...I got what I think is a good deal on a LS1 out of a wrecked 2000 Z28. I have been shopping around for a car for my son and I to work on together when I came across this....$500! It has 140000 on it but I figured "what the heck, its worth almost that in scrap aluminum!" So here is my problem.....I have limited experience in the mechanical field. I love all the tinkering...basic stuff like replacing a heater core (done), replace wheel bearings, brakes, tune up, etc...simple stuff. I had a perfect opportunity to learn when I was 15 and my dad and I (well...kind of) built a a 73 LTZ. (damn wish I still had that! lol) But of course...girls where much more fun to look at....so now I am wanting to do for my son what my dad did for me.

I plan to test the compression before I attempt to tear it down....any suggestions otherwise? Also I need to know where the ecm is located on the car so I can pull it too.

So basically if anyone feels pity for a true NEWB , all tips, hints, info, constructive laughter/criticism is welcome!
Old 11-19-2010, 08:44 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 399 Likes on 291 Posts

Did you buy an engine or the whole car? I'm a little confused by your post.
Old 11-19-2010, 09:14 PM
On The Tree

Sorry...was kind of rambling...just the engine....
Old 11-19-2010, 09:38 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 399 Likes on 291 Posts

Before you do anything I would research what it takes to reuse the block for a rebuild. I'm not sure how rebuilders deal with refurbishing the cylinders on the aluminum LS1 engine.

What kind of car are you going to put it in? Engine swaps are cool.
Old 11-20-2010, 06:33 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts