Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Intake/Heads/Throttle Body

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2011, 05:19 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Intake/Heads/Throttle Body

Hey guys, I have a 98 T.A. Ive been driving it pretty much stock for 3 years now. Low mile car(41000). I have lowered it, put on SFC's, strut tower brace, wheels and cat back. I have ordered/sitting in the garage waiting, LT headers, Cat-eliminating Y-pipe, short throw shifter, cross-drilled/slotted rotors, a SLP lid, and a SLP MAF.
I have heard good things about switching over to the LS6 intake as is on the 01-02 LS1's. I have also heard there can be significant HP gain switching to LS6/7 Heads. I would like to know what you more experienced guys have to say about these ideas. I basically want to keep up with the newer cars coming out. At some point I would like to do a rear mount turbo system, and maybe a cam. I guess I just want to know whats reccomended for good HP gain, at a reasonable budget. Thanks guys.
Old 02-24-2011, 05:23 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

going FI is different from going NA but id check out AFR or trick flow as far as heads go.
Old 02-24-2011, 05:44 PM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

LS7 heads don't work on LS1s. LS6 heads will though, and the LS6 intake is a good mod. I picked up 4mph from that and a tune in the 1/4 mile.

Honestly, if you are doing heads you might as well do a cam to get the most out of them.
Old 02-24-2011, 05:44 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't know about forced induction. A good budget set up that is popular on this site is the 228r 112-114lsa cam with stage one prc heads, (i believe these are pretty much ported LS6 heads).

The set up runs about $1900 for the heads/cam/springs/pushrods/timing chain/and ported ls6 oil pump.