New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Very New to LS based engines, advice please

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2019, 01:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Very New to LS based engines, advice please

Hello, just as the title says I am very new to the LS trend. Right now I have a 2001 5.3L LM7 that I plan on rebuilding as a high revving engine (around 7K) with (hopefully) around 450HP/400TQ. Some back ground of this engine is that it has a rod knock, I plan on buying a rotating assembly, cam, valve springs, throttle body, rocker arms, injectors, porting and polishing the heads, and most likely boring the cylinders 0.030 over. I would just love some advice on what parts to get to achieve my goal without completely emptying my wallet. Thank you ahead of time for all your help.
Old 03-15-2019, 09:13 AM
Restricted User

Received 104 Likes on 87 Posts

A mostly stock gen 3 5.3 with a tune will make ~330-340 horsepower at the flywheel. Long tubes and a cam can inch you over 400 horsepower.
That's before you start on heads, intake, etc. 450 is pretty reasonable. I would start small.

Forged rotating assembly isn't really necessary with N/A LS builds unless you need pistons for compression.
If you have a rod knock, grab some cheap gen 3 rods with 4.8 pistons. Can probably get them all for $150.
Old 03-15-2019, 02:43 PM

Thanks for the advice, the only thing is I dont think i will have enough clearance for some long tubes. Im running mids on a 383sbc in a 69 firebird now with barely enough room.
Old 03-15-2019, 02:46 PM
Restricted User

I'm pretty sure there are thousands and thousands of long tubes that have been installed on 1st gen F-bodies throughout the years...
Old 03-15-2019, 04:00 PM
Teching In

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...+1+Camaro+swap