Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C5 or GTO Purchase advice.

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2005, 09:41 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C5 or GTO Purchase advice.

Alright well I am a 19 year old surgical tech for the U.S. Army and I was considering flipping branches to seek other oppurtunities with the USAF. I would be getting back from training and putting roughly $3,000 or so down on a 1999 or 2000 C5, with mileage in the 60k's. I have seen them go for about $20,000 or so. I have a 1999 Explorer XLT with 85k on it right now but that will be sold before the purchase. I have a credit score of 687 but I feel this time next year I will be all set in getting a C5, I also have considered a GTO. I love the car because it is IMO one of the nicest, meanest looking cars on the road, a car that though bone stock still hands *** and takes names. I bet you are all thinking I am some cocky immature moron who is looking to kill himself with a fast car. I am not a newbie to the tuning world and though the car I will be in will not be forced fed, only minor mods I have driven plenty of cars of this caliber. I have always paid for everything myself and it would not be in the wrong hands. I have thoughts of getting into an FRC, if not then a Vert... something about this car draws me in no matter how many times I drive it or love other cars.

I have driven two C5's in my life time and one C4. The first C5 was a 1999 White Vert with a black top, auto, chrome Y2k's with 12,000 miles... the second was a 1993 Torch Red glass roof auto with 13,000 miles on it... I wasn't too fond of that one. The most recent was a 1999 White Vert with a black top and the non chrome wheels, wide spokes, I do not know what those are called... this one was also an auto but had 71,000 miles on it and a lot of problems, a serious case of neglect. I would get a 6 speed of course, I was not going to turn down oppurtunities to drive the cars because they were autos.