Nitrous Oxide Installation | Tuning | Products
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pulsing 'noids...HOW BAD IS IT REALLY?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2005, 12:40 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pulsing 'noids...HOW BAD IS IT REALLY?

Ok,

PLEASE don't tell me, "It is harder on the solenoids" or "NX noids are built for it" or "my friend says..."

If you have a Progressive on your car, how often do you change/refresh your solenoids??

I wouldn't mind sending mine off to NX, but last time I did that, they were gone for 2 MONTHS!!!!!!

So, seriously, how bad is it on the noids?
Old 09-21-2005, 06:44 AM
TECH Apprentice

I have been using the same set of NOS solenoids for 8-9 years testing progressive controllers. I have had them apart once for refreshing. I installed teflon seals in the beginning also. The highest bottle pressure I have ever used is 1000psi.
I have found that 920psi or lower works much better at lower strting percentages. Also you can add a +6 volt battery in series to just the nitrous solenoid(+18 volts to nitrous solenoid) to make them more responsive at lower percentages.
Old 09-21-2005, 09:24 AM
TECH Resident

Well look at it this way.

It's a mechanical device

It opens and closes

They do over time wear out nothing lasts for ever.

When fluttering a solenoid depending on your settings you're looking at what

10 times opening and closing, 200 times opening a closing in your run? 500 times?

No matter what the numer of times it opens and closes it's simply going to be more wear and tear and that much closer to the end of it's life compared to opening and closing it once on a run.
Old 09-21-2005, 04:40 PM
FormerVendor

That's a hard question to answer, as there are a lot of different variables. It's going to depend on how much the system is used and how long over the RPM band you are pulsing the solenoids. If you are only pulsing for a few thousand RPMs they will last a lot longer then if you are pulsing for 5000 RPMs.