Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

i have a couple painting questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 12:25 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default i have a couple painting questions

i have been doing alot of painting the last year for side jobs 20+ cars

i have a autobody degree. and they tought us everything basic. but i have some question

i only spray ppg

on the clear coats its hard not to get dry over spray or get a good consistent orange peel on big jobs so i have been using some blending solvents dx840 on the last coat of clears and i never get any over spray and the orange peel is perfect on the last 5 or so cars ( i just thought of this one day and it work awsome)

i lay down two good coats of clear than the one with blending solvents on the 3 coat to get rid of any dry over spray or orange peels ( i do not blend on parts of the panels. i do the whole thing)

i never heard of any one doing this but they turn out perfect after and im doing them in a garage and i dont even have to sand or buff after. there almost 100% perfect except for acosional dust nib.

i know when blending on parts it will fad after a couple years but if you put your 2 coats down then the blending on the last i dont see how it will fad?

any imput??????
Old 05-09-2012, 09:43 PM
TECH Resident

not one person that paints on here???
Old 05-10-2012, 10:15 AM
TECH Apprentice

sounds like you're using the wrong hardners and reducers.you shouldn't add the blender to an overall or large area.
Old 05-10-2012, 12:30 PM
TECH Resident

they only have two harners for the clear and i use a med temp hardner
Old 05-10-2012, 01:49 PM
TECH Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I thought the title said you had a couple of questions. It seems to me you are trying to get someone to agree with your newfound painting techniques.

Answer:

Knock yourself out!
Old 05-10-2012, 02:41 PM
TECH Resident