Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Wetsand help, fresh paint.

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2007, 10:46 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Wetsand help, fresh paint.

I painted an ss hood, ive done other panels before with good results. This thing came out orange peeled like no other. I sanded it for like an hour with 2000 grit, and then i buffed with my wheel and rubbing compound (wool pad), followed up with glazing compound (sponge pad).

Thing is, it still looks orange peeled, isnt flat, and looks like garbage still. I did 3 clear coats to give me a bit of elbow room since im new at wetsanding. What do I have to do to make this thing look awesome?

What is a good method for wetsanding and when do i know to stop sanding and start buffing? What is a good method for buffing?

How do shops do it? There must be an easier way?
Old 08-17-2007, 10:52 AM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

no pro here, but I have done a little wet sanding. If it looks like ****, hit it with some 1500, then 2000, then 3000, then buff.
Old 08-17-2007, 11:00 AM
TECH Resident

get a soft block and u can use 1000 if you are comfortable and very careful if not use 1500, and sand the thing until the whole damn panel is dull with nothing shiny, than buff.
Old 08-17-2007, 11:00 AM
TECH Resident

get a soft block and u can use 1000 if you are comfortable and very careful if not use 1500, and sand the thing until the whole damn panel is dull with nothing shiny, than buff.
Old 08-17-2007, 12:07 PM
TECH Fanatic

yeah you need a higher grit paper like 1000 or 1200 otherwise you can wetsand it for about 10 hours and you might get the same results
Old 08-17-2007, 12:20 PM
11 Second Club

DOH! Lol what a waste of a day. Is it normal to have quite a bit of orange peel when painting? Is there anything I can do to reduce it? I seem to always get a lot. Its been a while since i painted so I forgot to use 1000 this time.