Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Orange Peel...

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2008, 12:42 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Orange Peel...

I've read through a couple of threads about orange peel, and I'm a little bit confused. Orange peel is in the base coats, not the clear coat correct? Or could it be in both? Obviously I'm no paint expert

Anyways, after a fresh paint job I do have orange peel in certain areas, mostly on the doors, and I want to take a stab at fixing it soon since the paint is still faily fresh.

Do you have to hand sand with 1500-2000 grit/water or could you use a machine? I have a porter cable and it seems that would be a bit easier and quicker to use, unless that would destroy the paint. With a PC, what product would be best? Is there a good write up somewhere that I can read through?

Thanks folks.
Old 04-12-2008, 12:56 PM
TECH Enthusiast

orange peel is something that we cant get away from doing when we paint, no matter how good you are there will always be orange peel, even porsche has it,
i wouldnt do it simply becasue you dont know how many coats of clear the painter put on, and when we sand and buff that process removes about a coat and a half, so take it back to the shop and have them re buff the car
Old 04-12-2008, 05:58 PM
On The Tree

yea I figured that the clearcoat took a beating when you did this. Is it necessary to put another coat of clear after you smooth out the paint?
Old 04-12-2008, 07:33 PM
TECH Addict

no theres really nothing you can do. the one thing that will give u a smoother finish is using a slow hardener and with low voc clear. for instants spies and hekker makes their "optimum clear" or "diamond clear." the only way to get the orange peel out is to put an extra coat or 2 of clear on top of the 2-3 coats normally applied is wetsand it down until its flat and then buffing the paint out.
Old 04-12-2008, 10:18 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts