Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tuning Schools

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2019, 08:23 AM
Staging Lane

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Tuning Schools

Is there a consensus on tuning schools? I'm mostly interested in the GM stuff. I've been messing with my HP tuner on a couple of different vehicles. Even got paid to tune one truck, but I still have tons to learn. I'm an experienced automotive tech and auto instructor. Totally new to tuning though.
Is there one school that stands out? Please give me your recommendations.
Joe

Last edited by JoeRJr; 02-07-2019 at 04:31 PM. Reason: Spelling
Old 02-09-2019, 11:44 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Are you looking for an online course? Or did you actually want to go to a physical school and learn on a Dyno. There are tons of really good learn at home courses, but as far as Dyno tuning hands on, The Tuning School would be the one that comes to mind.
Old 02-09-2019, 05:07 PM
Staging Lane

Thanks for the reply. I did look at the Tuning School, but their next GM class is in March or April and it's already full. I guess that's a good class!
I originally was looking at classroom style learning, but the next best thing would be books. I'd absorb more by reading it than by watching a video.
Joe
Old 02-09-2019, 06:43 PM
On The Tree

Yea to be honest, it's a slow process but you can learn A LOT by digging. This forum is good, the HP tuners forum is good as well. The vehicle specific forums tend to be pretty junk for tuning know how.

Not sure what your skill level is, sounds like you have the basics down, but if you're still trying to figure out things like what volumetric efficiency really means, there are some really good EFI basics books available on amazon that aren't specific to GM tuning. You'll need the base knowledge to understand why you're doing things.
Old 02-09-2019, 09:27 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,018 Likes on 2,349 Posts