PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo

Need answers tuning for stall with hp tuners

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2005 | 08:55 PM
11 Second Club

Default Need answers tuning for stall with hp tuners

Just installed a vig 3600

What exactly do I need to change to keep the engine from hitting the rev limiter when shifting?

Also, Do I need to change the shift points? I have already worked on the shift feel, but not shift points.

I have a slight idle hunt at times. Several people have said to raise idle by 50rpm's. Are they talking about adding 50 to the entire "target idle speed vs. ect" table?

Is there anything else I should change? I am new to hp tuners. I understand the basics pretty well, but I have searched for days, and I can't seem to find the answers I need in easy to understand terms. A lot of good college did huh?Lol.
Old 08-15-2005 | 09:01 PM

The converter lets your RPM "stretch" ahead of MPH.
Shift needs both MPH and RPM (at WOT) so you have
to back down the WOT MPH table. Then you need to
make the higher parts of the part throttle table blend
nicely, to that.

Up the idle a bit, I put mine to 700RPM. You may want
more when cold. You probably want to log your actual
idle airflow when stable and put the desired airflow to
close, but less, to catch it if it stumbles.
Old 08-15-2005 | 09:22 PM
11 Second Club

Thanks for the reply. I'm afraid I need a lot of help.

How much do I need to lower the wot mph table?

Do you have an example of what you mean by, "you need to
nicely, to that."?

"Where did you input 700 rpm? Are you talking about the whole "target idle speed vs. ect" table?

I'm confused. When you say "desired airflow" where are you refering to? I see a ton of things with "airflow" in the idle sections.
Old 08-16-2005 | 11:19 AM
TECH Enthusiast

I'm interested about this as well, my car has been stumbling a bit when starting cold recently.
Old 08-17-2005 | 12:04 AM
TECH Addict