Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

Ideas to reduce understeer on 98 TA

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2010, 10:19 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ideas to reduce understeer on 98 TA

So this is my first year autox'ing my 98 TA and it's been an absolute blast! I can control the car very well, but occasionally I still have a bad understeer problem. Yes I could just slow down, but at some of the sweeps I'm understeering at, with the speed I'm going I feel that I should be gripping with the front more. I have some ideas as to what I can do, but wanted to hit you guys up and ask for your help.

Currently the car has Strano Springs on Bilstein HD Shocks, 35mm Front Sway Bar with poly end links, PHB, STB, and LCAs'. My tires are Kuhmo Ecsta XS 285/40/17 on all 4 corners with C4 ZR1 (grand sport actually) 17x9.5's. The tires are new this year and have 5 events on them....so they're fine.

Below are some thoughts I've had, let me know if I'm on the right track.

1. Air pressure. I kept dropping air pressure at my last event and ended up at 32 front, 34 rear. I usually start at 35 all around. Am I way off here?

2. Camber. Adjustable lower a arms??? Still needs to be streetable though so how much camber do you suggest? Any reason I can't get an alignment squared up, and then extend the arms out for an event?...then put them back to the square mark to save my tires on the street?

3. Weight. Specifically the battery is the only thing I can think of that needs to be moved. I already have the bracket for the spare tire spot...I just need the cable. I already have EGR , AIR, and winsheild fluid resevore gone. I'm a very budget minded person so a chromoly k-member isn't in the cards yet.

4. Rear Sway???? I wouldn't think this would help with understeer at all, although since I don't have one I wanted to ask if you'd feel a difference in the front with the rear sway?

5. ??? I'm out of ideas.