Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

suspension n00b. school me.

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2009, 01:43 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default suspension n00b. school me.

ok so since day 1 with my SS i have had traction issues. hooking from a dig is a joke. even when it was bone stock. but now its got bolt ons, LT's, TD's, and a cam. and im just getting started with the mods i want. i still want heads, a FAST 90/90, gears etc etc. so my question is, before i add any more hp to the equation what should i do suspension wise to hook and/or eleminate wheel hop? my thought was rear sway bar and a panhard bar. but i have no clue what size sway bar to run. or to do adj. or non-adj. panhard. which btw i plan on staying stock ride height.
Old 07-20-2009, 01:50 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Are we talking about a 4th gen or 1st?
Old 07-20-2009, 01:53 PM
TECH Addict

oh my bad, 4th gen. i have both but in this case a 4th gen ss m6.

and i guess i should also specify that i don't plan on anything much past 400rwhp. no plans to autocross but i would like cornering performance. and it will have the occasional trip to the drag strip. and like i mentioned before stock ride height.
Old 07-20-2009, 01:59 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

lower control arms. make a big difference for wheel hop. someone correct me if i'm wrong, but aren't the adjustable LCAs/PHB only REQUIRED when you lower due to the change of the angles?

if you read in the suspension FAQs, it tells what each part does. so if you're really needing to center your rear end, then get an adjustable. mine was only off by a few 16ths of an inch, plus i can't really adjust mine because there's no nuts welded on to move it.