Browse all: Chevrolet Camaro or Pontiac Firebird Steering & Suspension Guides
Print Wikipost

Best significant suspension mods for the money

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2010, 10:01 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Best significant suspension mods for the money

I was reading some threads and it seems SFC and LCA are the way to go but im a noob in suspension so not sure what would be the best?? The best bang for ur buck
Old 09-25-2010, 10:18 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Well i can tell you that subframes should be your first mod when it comes to suspension bc of unibody construction on the fbody. they are cheap, will tighten your car preety noticeable, and a lot of sponsors on this site have em or u can find used. def get welded although bolt on are not terrible. when u start lowering your car (and it can get expensive to do it right) then look at springs shocks lca and panhard. but id say ur cheapest and first suspension mod should be the welded/bolt on sfc. dont buy k member or a arms unless u have time and money bc they are basically for weight reduction and some added stiffness. also another step is to get aluminum driveshaft bc it reduces rotating weight through drivetrain and those are on classifieds all the time. good luck
Old 09-25-2010, 10:52 AM
TECH Enthusiast

yeah aluminum ds was something i was going to do but didnt know it helped with suspension and weight, and yeah subframe connectors sounds like my best bet thanks

anyone else want to chime in
Old 09-25-2010, 11:48 AM
Staging Lane

I assume you have bilstein shocks like your sig says.
It would also help what your ultimate goal or expectations are.

If you are just wanting a nice street car, I would get a set of 35mm/22mm sway bar set.

UMI sells a solid set and Sam sells a hollow set, depends on if you care about weight or not.

I autocross and still dont have SFC.
Old 09-25-2010, 01:01 PM
TECH Fanatic