Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Must haves for proper lowering

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2011, 12:03 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Must haves for proper lowering

Hey guys I was just wondering what you have to have to do a proper lowering. I've done some research and found that that you need springs, shocks and the panhard bar. Is there anything else that you have to have besides the alignment after? Do I need different control arms or anything else? I'm looking for either a 1" to 1.25 drop. I'm just looking for a street car. Also how do you adjust the panhard bar? I've never messed with one and don't know what I'm looking for. Is this something the technician that does the aligment does? Also one more thing. Is it better to get wheels and tires first or buy them after? Sorry for so many questions. I'm still learning with these cars.
Old 04-17-2011, 02:50 AM
TECH Regular

People often suggest Lower control arm relocation brackets because lowering will make the control arms sit at a different angle, making wheel hop more of a problem. If its just a street car you might not care though.

The panhard bar is an adjustable one. Either single adjustable or double adjustable. Single you need to take at least one end off to adjust it, and double you can adjust it on the car. The stock one cannot be adjusted.

as far as wheels and tires before or , I dont think it matters but im not sure
Old 04-17-2011, 04:03 AM
On The Tree

When it comes to the panhard bar, I guess the question I was asking is not how it adjusts. Is there a presice measurement like alignments. Can I do it myself and what am I looking for when it's right?
Old 04-17-2011, 04:46 AM
On The Tree

Panhard bar or watts link centers the rear end under the car. You will also want to put on an adjustable torque arm to adjust the angle at which the rear end aligns with the transmission.
Old 04-17-2011, 02:20 PM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by BradsLS1