Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Changing outer tie rods

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2012, 08:21 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing outer tie rods

I'm going to be replacing my outer tie rods tmrw and i was reading up on how to do it. This is my first time doing tie rods BTW. couple questions: after i loosen the jam nut, will the tie rod just spin off? what do i do if its stuck on there? i watched a how to video, and they made it look so easy. but i know its not going to be a 5 min job lol...

thanks!
Old 10-07-2012, 08:29 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

pretty much cut and dry here..loosen the jam nut BEFORE you unbolt the tie rod end from the knuckel, itll make life much easier..trust me. when you loosen the jam nut try to keep it butted aginst the tie rod to minimize throwing it out of adjustment, or count how many times the tie rod spins to get off the threaded rod.

the tie rod end should spin right off once you get the jam nut loose and tie rod unbolted from the knuckel. if it dont, dont be afraid to put some channel locks of vice grips on it to get it to spin off, you wont hurt the old one. G.L
Old 10-07-2012, 08:39 PM
Launching!

cool man thanks. i was just worried if it didnt come off once i get the jam nut off, how i'd get it to spin off. should i put the vise grips on the tie rod shaft and use a wrench to twist off the tie rod?
Old 10-07-2012, 08:49 PM
TECH Enthusiast

n.p

you can do that, but in my experience...ive done ALOT of tie rod ends,
and have never had one seized on the threaded rod..i think your chances of
that happening are slim to none, however, IF its stuck use any means possible
to get it off..its old, its junk, and all you care about is getting it off!
Old 10-07-2012, 08:59 PM
Launching!

ahh alright. so i probably won't have to deal with a seized on tie rod. good deal. thank you JayZeig! i'll chime in tmrw and let you know how it goes.
Old 10-07-2012, 09:07 PM