Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Excess Pedal Travel Diagnostics

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2017, 09:43 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Excess Pedal Travel Diagnostics

Drove my wife's 96 Firebird (3.8, AT) today after driving around for the last couple of days in my 97 SS and noticed a big difference in the amount of pedal travel in the Firebird, the brake pedal goes through about half (maybe more) of it's total travel range under normal braking, whereas the SS barely feels like it moves at all. The Firebird does stop pretty good...just takes a lot more pedal travel to do it.

I figure it's safe to say that the Firebird brakes need some attention, but I am not an expert and don't want to just start throwing parts at it so I figured I'd ask here and maybe get some help pinpointing the issue before I start in.

Firstly, the front brakes haven't been done in a number of years, but visually the pads have maybe 40% left, and the rotors look pretty good still. The rears (Drums!) were done (at a shop) last winter since a wheel cylinder started leaking in the middle of February and it was too cold for me to have any desire to work on it.

To help rule out the rears; my handbrake holds just fine, the lever doesn't need to travel much to "bite" and pushing the brake pedal with the handbrake engaged doesn't result in any difference in pedal feel.

I don't *think* it's a master cylinder issue since the pedal doesn't "sink" if I keep constant, even hard, pressure on it with my foot. Also, the fluid level is consistently on 'full', so no leaks.

So now I am thinking the issue is with the front discs. I recall looking at the pads when I last had the wheels off a month or so ago and noticed that one pad, inboard or outboard I can't recall, was worn more than the other. Some reading suggests that maybe the slider pins are seized and allowing the one side to drag? Would that cause the excess pedal travel I am getting?