Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors
View Poll Results: Which adjustable transmission mounted Torque Arm?
BMR
25.00%
Spohn
16.67%
UMI
50.00%
L.G.
8.33%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

Torque Arm for Pacesetter/TSP catted Y

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2005, 03:55 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Torque Arm for Pacesetter/TSP catted Y

I'm pretty new to torque arms so I'm wondering which torque arm I should get. I've pretty much decided on a transmission mounted TA b/c of clearance and I'll also be getting adjustable unless someone know's of a reason not to. A few questions though:

Which brand works the best with Long tubes and Catted Y - BMR, Spohn, UMI, LG...

Chrome Moly worth it? What's the difference?

Should I get a TA with a driveshaft safety loop or buy one seperately? At what 1/4 ET mile time do I need a driveshaft loop?

Last edited by Xtnct00WS6; 10-09-2005 at 04:35 PM.
Old 10-09-2005, 08:59 PM
JGA
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi

Re 98 Camaro
I could not get a Spohn tranny mount torque arm to clear my factory Y pipe. I later put on Mac headers and cat Y pipe and it still hit the Mac Y pipe. The other designs (BMR, UMI, Random) seem to allow a little more clearance at the front over the Y pipe. The bottom tube slopes up on a steeper angle. All of them seem to be great quality. I am using a BMR ajustable torque arm now with the relocation kit. I am realy happy with it. Also, with it set at the highest position there is alot of room under it. I can't imagine this combo interfearing with any Y pipe. On the other hand, you do have to be carefull about hitting the floor in the tunnel.

JA
Old 10-10-2005, 12:37 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

ttt...

Last edited by Xtnct00WS6; 10-10-2005 at 04:39 PM.
Old 10-11-2005, 09:09 PM
TECH Junkie

im running the spohn, and am having no problems with it. I like it because I got the drive shaft safety loop with it
Old 10-11-2005, 09:16 PM