Suspension & Brakes Springs | Shocks | Handling | Rotors

Break in new pads and rotors separately?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2006, 05:39 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Break in new pads and rotors separately?

I am putting 4 new pads (Hawks) and 2 front rotors (Autozone blanks) and changing fluid to synthetic. Seems like I read where you are supposed to break pads and rotors in separately. Doesn't make sense to me to do the whole thing 2x. Also, do you follow Hawks bernishing procedure? Anything else I need to know before I start around lunch tomorrow?
Old 11-07-2006, 07:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

I don't see why you need to do it seperately, however I'm not an expert. I've done plenty of brake jobs and we just do it all at once. Follow the instuctions for breaking in the pads. I followed them cause it wasn't a big deal. But you don't have to do exactly what they say, just don't slam on the brakes as soon as you drive off. Let them warm up by drag and brake early at a smooth pace. Thats all you really need to do.

I'm assuming you got it covered, but just clean off the old grease on the glider pins and apply new lube.
Old 11-08-2006, 07:12 PM
11 Second Club

Never broke in any of mine seperately, always did them together for matching surfaces. Just break them in per manufacturer's recomendations.
Old 11-08-2006, 07:37 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've never heard of breaking them in seperately. That would be like breaking in the friction material on a new clutch setup with the old flywheel or vice-versa
Old 11-08-2006, 09:34 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The manufacturers do typically recommend breaking in pads and rotor seperately. On a race/track car, you usually wear pads out and the rotors stay pretty "flat", so you can run the old pads on new rotors to season them, then swap to new pads, etc.