Does anyone here work at an oil rig?

Old 01-18-2008, 11:04 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Does anyone here work at an oil rig?

I was interested at working at an on or offshore rig and I was wondering if there was anyone here that could help me out, or give me places to send my resume.I have no experience and trying to get an entry level job.
Old 01-18-2008, 12:00 PM
Launching!

Rigzone.com- lists different openings

some companies i can think of off the top of my head are:

Diamond offshore drilling
Noble Drilling
Nabors Drilling
Pride Offshore
El Paso

and thats just a few. If your starting out at the bottom of the food chain it will be rough.
Old 01-18-2008, 12:11 PM
Launching!

I had thoughts about going to work for H&P (Helmerich & Payne). I have 2 friend's who work for them and they get paid pretty good. They said if you can wipe your @$$, you can make it out there. 7 days on, 7 days off!
Old 01-18-2008, 12:22 PM
TECH Enthusiast

are you mindset for offshore? Cause theres alot of on-shore drilling around the dfw area right now that will be here awhile. I'm in the local field here but I dont work on the rigs. There are endless choices in this field around here. But if your set on working on rigs might try Nomac, Baker Hughes, Nabors, Putman. Thats all I can think of. Get your cdl and your choices dont stop there. Shlumberjer, Weatherford Technoligies, Key energy, Tetra, Liberty Frac, Diamond Back energy, Halaberton. Theres frac, flowback, drilling, directional drilling, location site setup, SEI does oilfield work out here. Water re-location, like I said theres alot of stuff to do in-land, but if offshore is your gig, I'd go for that. Good luck.
Old 01-18-2008, 12:46 PM
Launching!

Originally Posted by avengedws6