inherited a 97(?) Chevy 2500...possible plans...need advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2008 | 09:18 PM
TECH Fanatic

Default inherited a 97(?) Chevy 2500...possible plans...need advice

well guys...i just recently inherited a truck. it belonged to my father and he NEVER washed it...had so much mud in the back, it was literally growing plants lol well i was going to sell UNTIL i washed it, as many here know...us LS1 owners are the best at washing lol so my gf and i detailed it for 4 hours and after we realized its beauty. Iv always wanted a truck...so im thinkin about keeping it...not as a daily or anything...but something to use for fun in the mud or something.

so heres my question...
anyone know where i can get a good priced suspension lift kit...im lookin to gain atleast 6 inches without losing an arm and a leg lol

what about body lift? any good?

im new to trucks...so i need some help.
also know of any good truck forums?
Old 03-16-2008 | 09:46 PM
Launching!

A 6-inch lift is going to cost around 1500 bucks. Or your could do it the cheap way and crank up the torsion bars but ride quality will suffer(very stiff) and alignment will be off.

OR you could do a solid front axle conversion, like a dana 44 or 60 front axle out of and 80's 3/4 ton or half ton. Then sell your old IRS front suspention to pay for the swap. This would be the easiest way maybe and much cooler.
Old 03-16-2008 | 11:27 PM
TECH Veteran
20 Year Member