Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

my torque wrench

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2011, 01:07 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default my torque wrench

is there somethign wrong with my torque wrench i got three of them 1 snap on and 1 from harbor frieight and one from autozone the problem is that its my first time really using a TW and i notice when i set the each wrench to a low value like 22lbs I cant handle even notice the click point so i keep going and i broke a bolt that way once and im doin my head install. my question is this normal when you in the lower value for the click not to be so noticible?
Old 08-31-2011, 01:42 PM
On The Tree

any input anybody
Old 08-31-2011, 01:52 PM
TECH Addict

Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts

with my harbor freight one you can't feel anything at low ft/lb specs

I bought a cheap craftsman beam style one for when it's something under 50 ft/lb

of course I wouldn't use either of my torque wrenches for something like engine assembly though
Old 08-31-2011, 04:35 PM
TECH Resident

I use a harbor freight 1/2" drive torque wrench and it works very well. There was actually an article a while ago that said that hf was pretty accurate. You just have to make sure you use them within their ranges and take care of them well. When youre at the bottom end of the range it does require a very light touch. I used it at 20ftlbs last night and felt a definite click, but for your question it is very less noticeable at lower settings. If you cant feel a click at the point where your shearing bolts you might want to have it checked out because it might be broken.
Old 08-31-2011, 07:54 PM
TECH Addict