Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

TIG, water cooled or not?

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2011, 03:51 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default TIG, water cooled or not?

I am looking to purchase a tig for my garage. I am a college student and could make some money on the side with the welder as alot of my friends need fab work done. The only tig i have experience with is a Lincoln precision tig 275 with the water cooled add-on. I have never used a tig without water cooling, is it really worth the extra money. I have been looking at used welders in the $1500ish price range.

any input would be great
Old 11-11-2011, 06:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

As a general rule, go with water cooled wherever possible. More importantly though, would be to try to find a switchable ac/dc tig with pulse function. That way, aluminum will turn out really pretty

For a decent "chinesium" unit....check out the Everlast 250ex. It has all the functions you'll need, no water cooling though. Good for a "non-production" environment.

Edit: Apparently, they are being advertised WITH water-cooled torch....interesting.

Last edited by salemetro; 11-11-2011 at 06:53 PM.
Old 11-11-2011, 09:00 PM
TECH Regular

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts

water cooled is the only way to go
i have a precision tig 275 and i made my own water cool system from a car rad and an RV 110V electric water pump
i can weld aluminum continuously all day long with no overheating issues
cost me about 500$ to build
Beaudacious
Old 11-11-2011, 09:59 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Unless you're doing 'production type' continuous welding all day long, a water cooled set up isn't really necessary. For the average garage, shop, or home user a standard TIG works great. I use a Miller XMT 304 for TIG & stick welding with a SuitCase 8VS attached for MIG welding.

Mike
Old 11-14-2011, 12:18 PM
TECH Senior Member

Originally Posted by Mike52