Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Experience with Harbor Freight torque wrench

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2016, 06:54 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Experience with Harbor Freight torque wrench

Well I just felt that I needed to share this with you guys. I'm not a mechanic and like most of your guys I'm just trying to do some minor mods on my own. I needed to install a flexplate, oil pan, intake manifold so I needed a torque wrench. I said well I'm only going to use this torque wrench for a month and probably be done with it for a couple of years. so I did some research on the Harbor Freight torque wrench and I told my self l I guess I can live with their +/- 4% vs others better brands that's 1% .. I also told my self well if I need to torque something at 75 lbs. and the harbor freight is off by 10 lbs. ill take my chances.

First project I tackle was my oil pan. It calls for 18 ft/lbs I set my wrench at 18 lbs and I was done, nothing happen nothing broke so I was happy. Second project was my Flexplate it calls for 74ft/lbs and BAMMM broke a bolt. So that day I order a CDI Torque wrench made by Snap On. I torque the flex plate at 74 ft/lbs with the CDI wrench and it felt like night and day. Then I decided to double check the oil pan bolts that I had torque down at 18 ft/lbs with the HB wrench, and what do you know they where actually at 36 ft/lbs 50% off!!!

I'm not saying to get a TDI wrench I'm sure there is similar ones but what I'm saying is DO NOT BUY A HARBOR FREIGHT WRENCH. This wrenches are basically a mental illusion that you torqued something considering that you didn't brake a bolt. If you cant afford a good wrench then rent it. Again I'm not a mechanic or a torque wrench expert but when something is off by 50% with a new wrench that comes with a certificate of calibration with a date and blah blah blah tells you a lot.