Tools & Fabrication Hand | Power | Hydraulic | Pneumatic | Welding | Painting

Mig welders got a question.

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2008, 03:31 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mig welders got a question.

At work we have a Miller 210 mig welder. My question is what is the best way to weld side to side or in a straight dragging motion? Thanks I'm a newbie at this mig welding?
Old 09-01-2008, 04:25 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 70 Likes on 62 Posts

Default I use

Originally Posted by 2_wacko
At work we have a Miller 210 mig welder. My question is what is the best way to weld side to side or in a straight dragging motion? Thanks I'm a newbie at this mig welding?
the rt to left, push, as I'm rt handed. IE: nozzle is behind the puddle, not in ft of.
Old 09-01-2008, 05:43 PM
TECH Veteran

Originally Posted by Old Geezer
the rt to left, push, as I'm rt handed. IE: nozzle is behind the puddle, not in ft of.
Thanks thats what I have been doing just wanted to make sure.
Old 09-01-2008, 06:34 PM
TECH Veteran

Another problem I have is my welds look wormy is this due to moving to slow?
Old 09-01-2008, 06:37 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I am thinking about picking up a welder at work and learning(Assistant Manager at Harbor Freight). I could get a 110v Mig welder with a roll of wire, mask, pliers, etc, for less than a hundred bucks. The haynes welding manual is freakin awesome. They seem to think that a 110v mig welder is okay for a seldom/beginner welder. What do yall think?
Old 09-02-2008, 08:49 AM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by 2_wacko
Another problem I have is my welds look wormy is this due to moving to slow?