Wheels & Tires Forged | Billet | Cast | Radials | Slicks

Cheap Drag wheel/tire suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2012, 09:10 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Cheap Drag wheel/tire suggestions

Hi guys. I'm basically a noob when it comes to all the drag tire/wheel combinations 15x8 , 15x10 , backspacing required, etc.

I just want a cheap setup for a little extra bite for a occasional trip to the track. Nothing serious at all.

I've read up some on summit and jeg wheels but I'd like a set that bolts right up with no grinding or spacers; does such a thing exist or is that why these wheels run so cheap?

Any suggestions at all would be highly appreciated. Thanks.

My car is a cammed 98 trans am A4 3600 stall
Old 02-03-2012, 04:43 AM
Captain Double Post

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

jegs and summit wheels are heavy and china made,real drag wheels that are light, fit with no issues are going to cost alot more, most drag wheels you have to grind etc, its not a big deal to grind ,run spacers etc, if you search you will find tons of info on this topic, but yes with summit wheels,jegs,pro stars , draglites and other will need to grind for extra clearance
Old 02-03-2012, 11:43 AM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by BOBS99SS
jegs and summit wheels are heavy and china made,real drag wheels that are light, fit with no issues are going to cost alot more, most drag wheels you have to grind etc, its not a big deal to grind ,run spacers etc, if you search you will find tons of info on this topic, but yes with summit wheels,jegs,pro stars , draglites and other will need to grind for extra clearance
I went and looked at some wheels last night that had some tires mounted and they looked like Weld Prostars (I know Jegs and Summit knocked them off) but my question has to do with telling the difference between the knockoffs and the real Weld Racing Prostars.