Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

people with subthump 12" stealth box..what sub?

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2005, 06:11 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default people with subthump 12" stealth box..what sub?

What subs are you guys going with? Im looking at a RF p3, IDMAXX, 12w3, alumapro alchemy, infinity perfect..

suggestions, comments?
Old 02-20-2005, 06:47 PM
TECH Regular

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I have the subthump 10" stealth box with a sony P5, and it hits really hard, and sounds very good. My winter rat has 2 10" orion subs and the 1 10" sub in my Firebird sounds twice as good and hits twice as hard(at half the watts)
Im not a expert on any of those subs you listed but I think that you will be very pleased with any one that you choose.
Old 02-20-2005, 11:19 PM
Staging Lane

I have been told that any sub will sound good in a quality built box. I have the t-top box built by subthump and have 2 cheap mtx 12s in it($60 bucks for the pair). I am very happy with the sound. And i dont have to stick my t-tops in the back seat.
Old 02-21-2005, 12:04 AM
12 Second Truck Club

Originally Posted by Dino98T/A
I have been told that any sub will sound good in a quality built box.

That's not entirely true. A crappy sub is a crappy sub no matter what box you put it into. Also the model of sub should be matched to the needs of the listener. Some subs play loud but don't hit low (old Rockfords were notorious for this), some hit low but are not as loud (JL W7s fit this bill but are still pretty loud), some are made for shear accuracy and smooth response with as little peakyness as possible. SQ subs would work poorly in an SPL situation just as an SPL sub would sound poor in an SQ situtation.