Appearance & Detailing Interior & Exterior Appearance Modifications

How could this of happened to my paint? All out Detail

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2009, 03:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default How could this of happened to my paint? All out Detail

Im fairly new to major detailing, but wash my car meitculously several times a month. Recnetly I just put 6 coats of different products on my car.

Washed with Turtle wax Ice soap
Clay Bar First

Products applied by hand.

Turtle - Polishing Compound - think I used whats referred to as a cutter - black sponge like applicator
Meguairs Paint Cleaner - regular white applicator
Meguairs Polish - regular white applicator
Eagle Nano wax - regular white applicator
Meguairs Carnuba - plush yellow applicator
Pinnacle Brazlian Carnuba - plush yellow applicator

I followed the instructions to a T for each of the products, and used new applicators and microfibers to remove the wax. Never put the cloths on the ground or anything.

Can I call meguairs and take the stance that their product failed to work properly? I did everything the container said to do, and got completely opposite results - scratch remover? lol more like scratch adder

In dull lighting the paint looks really good, and when you push a towl across the paint it flies off like butter, it also feels so smooth and soft....but when put in the sun, it looks WORSE than before. Its all marred with scratches and swirls alot worse than before the major detail. I dont understand how this happened. What could of caused this? Is it fixable? If so how?

Any assistance would be much appreciated. Also, if anyone is local, and wouldnt mind looking at the car to see how and why this happened, and if it can be fixed please let me know.

Thanks again
Old 03-16-2009, 03:43 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

try just putting nxt tech wax on it. hides scratches and swirls. only thing i use

8 year old paint

Old 03-16-2009, 03:48 PM