Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Performance 4L60E build thread

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2015, 04:48 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Performance 4L60E build thread

Looking for any input on a perf. Trans for a full weight 2000 Camaro with a 370 and small supercharger.

A little bit about myself:
I have been building my own transmissions for many years and want to give one a try with the newest upgrades on the market and see how it works out. I build 3-4 4L60E's a year for friends and family and have had excellent luck in the stock form with the orange box shift kit and the standard light duty upgrades ( shift kit, servo setup, aluminum pistons, 8 clutch 3-4, etc ) . They have been installed mainly in street rods, light duty trucks and cars with ~400 fwhp or less and none of them are dedicated drag cars or on stickies. My go to build for anything over that has always been a TH400 and if they want OD, I go with the 4L80E and have had great success with them and feel I have a pretty good grasp on what to do in that arena.

This car is going to be full weight 2000 camaro with a forged 370 and either a Maggie 2.9 or something with roughly the same potential power adder. I want to try the 4L60E out just to see if it will handle the torque and live with me building it. I am not a poor guy but am mindful to spend money where it counts and am willing to spend the dough to give it one solid effort to convince myself that it can be done and be reliable. If that is the case, It could save some swap out headaches in some vehicles that need to be massaged for the 4L80E swap.

Trust me when I say this, I have no doubt the 4L80E is a MUCH tougher trans in all respects and am not here to argue or discuss the merits of swapping one. I have done many and it is one of my favorite trans to work on but I do believe that the 60E has some potential in some applications that would be more beneficial.