Dyno Guesses & Bench Racing Forum Horsepower Estimates | Racing Scenarios

New owner - numbers seem low - opinions?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2022, 01:50 PM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New owner - numbers seem low - opinions?

I've recently acquired a 2K Trans Am. Has some work done to it, also has issues, runs poorly and has a vibration to it. Trying to rid this bird of the lice I took it in for dyno tuning. Numbers seem low, but I'm also new to this so trying to figure out if there's issues and if so where they are. IF there's bottlenecks what they are and how to resolve them.

383 Eagle short block, H beams, Diamond pistons of an unknown compression ratio. Btr valvetrain, stage 4 cam , 853s that should be ported/polished, Long tubes to Borla cat back. Weiand intake. Throttle body appears larger then stock, but exactly what it is isn't known yet. I know little about the fuel system, numbers on the injectors come back stock ls1 24lb.

What should be expected out of a setup like this???
Old 10-29-2022, 02:05 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,109 Likes on 2,424 Posts

You're getting exactly what should be expexted from an engine with many mods but still using stock injectors; garbage numbers.
Evaluate EXACTLY what you actually HAVE, assess where improvements or adjustments are needed, and go from there.
The following users liked this post:
Biebs (10-30-2022)
Old 10-29-2022, 02:41 PM
Teching In

Was hoping for the amount of loot it costs for dyno tuning that maybe they could have shed some light on potential issues (like stock injectors) but nah, they pretty much just said it is what it is, no recommendations were mentioned.

Was under the impression stock injectors would be fine well into mid 400s? Maybe not?
Old 10-29-2022, 03:30 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 399 Likes on 291 Posts

Originally Posted by Clipped