General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Automotive Books

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2007, 11:22 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Automotive Books

Basically, I don't know as much about cars/engines as I wish I did. I have very basic knowledge and even that is exaggerating on some things. I would like to pick up some books to further my knowledge about cars and especially the LS1 engine if possible. Any suggestions? I ordered one from Amazon for LS1 performance just for a good read but I have a feeling it won't go as in-depth in explaining the basics of engines/drivetrains and how they work.

Any suggestions?
Old 04-22-2007, 04:52 PM
TECH Regular

I know I have a lot of automotive knowledge,but I am never satisfied.The best way to learn is first hand experience,reading text books,and time.The best automotive text book out right now is Automotive Technology by Jack Erjavec.It is about 1300 pages long,and is very informative and in-depth.If there is one book you should buy this is the one.Search for it on Amazon or Ebay.
Old 04-22-2007, 06:58 PM
TECH Enthusiast

First hand experience is definately what I want but unfortunately, that's not always an option. I can't afford to have my car down because it's my DD so I can't just start tearing the engine apart or anything.

Is this the one? Automotive Technology

Or this one? Automotive Technology

It seems like the second might be what I'm looking for.

Okay, it seems the first one is just the newest (4th) Edition and the second is the 3rd Edition. Would I really be missing a lot by picking up a previous edition? The 3rd Edition can be had for real cheap on half.com

Last edited by Kalgorn; 04-22-2007 at 07:03 PM.
Old 04-22-2007, 07:10 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Okay, I caved and picked up the 3rd Edition from Half.com for like $13 shipped and it has the CD included. Thanks for the recommendation. I hadn't even thought about getting a textbook!
Old 04-22-2007, 08:51 PM