General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

few ls1 questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2008, 10:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default few ls1 questions

hey everyone. i will be shopping for a ws6 for my next project car when the mustang is done and had a few questions since im fairly new to GM. im starting to do some research on the ls1 so here goes. i have learned so far with my motor which is a 4.6 and quite is small compared to the 5.7, i chose to stay the N/A since everyone goes the F/I path but i wish i would have got my heads ported a bit more and went with a bit more radical cam. basicly i just wish i could have gotten more power lol and i love spooling up my rpms. one question is if i were to stroke a ls1, what would be the max cubes i can get out of it? also do they like to be revved high? like 7k rpms? and if i sway tword the F/I path what is a good turbo or super charger kit that anyone has exp. with? do these motors make great power with just heads and cams and intake *N/A*? sorry for all the newb questions just wish i did a little bit more research when i got the stang, i just kinda jumped in it blindly but all and all it turned out good. may be a while until i get the ws6 but when i do it will just be a cruising/strip car so i dont mind if its a bit harsh to run on the street, somthin pretty wild. yeah anyways just looking for some opinions and some info and if you dont mind share your setups and what mabey you would have done different if you were to do it again. thanks everyone, sorry for the long post
Old 01-20-2008, 10:22 PM
Launching!

wow... wall of text

well 7k rpms might be a bit high for an LS1 considering the 6.2k rev limiter but...
Old 01-20-2008, 10:49 PM
11 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

good thinking getting rid of that disgustang
Old 01-20-2008, 11:03 PM

Originally Posted by Twigs
wow... wall of text

well 7k rpms might be a bit high for an LS1 considering the 6.2k rev limiter but...