Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

If I gut my cats.....

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2011, 06:42 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default If I gut my cats.....

I have been driving around for about 5 months on them ( only like 1000 miles) and I have not had a single code on my front o2's. My question is, if I gut my cats and lose that back pressure will I start throwing codes on my front o2's or will I have absolutely no problems at all. Thanks
Old 08-12-2011, 07:01 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You will get a code for the rear O2s. But the car will have no problem due to removing cats. The computer read the front o2 sensor, which should be changing constantly. Then it compares that reading to the rear o2 sensors, which should be more stable due to the cat. If the cat is removed, the rear sensors will read similar to front ones. Thats how the computer knows if the cat is working or not. The front o2s wouldnt be affected and you can always tune out the code later on.

However, i heard if you have a v6 camaro and gut the cat, you will smoke vipers and have no traction under 80mph jk your title reminded me of that story
Old 08-12-2011, 07:06 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by Zlow28
You will get a code for the rear O2s. But the car will have no problem due to removing cats. The computer read the front o2 sensor, which should be changing constantly. Then it compares that reading to the rear o2 sensors, which should be more stable due to the cat. If the cat is removed, the rear sensors will read similar to front ones. Thats how the computer knows if the cat is working or not. The front o2s wouldnt be affected and you can always tune out the code later on.

However, i heard if you have a v6 camaro and gut the cat, you will smoke vipers and have no traction under 80mph jk your title reminded me of that story