Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Building ls1 block what do i need for boost?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2009, 12:51 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Building ls1 block what do i need for boost?

Hey everyone, im building a procharged ls1 to drop in my nissan 240sx..the block is apart right now and i will be building it from the ground up and i'm not quite sure what to get piston/rod/etc wise.. my goal is to be getting around 550 wheel and il be slapping ls6 heads on too. I don't know what cam to get and i'd really like to get some opinions on what anyone else is running compression wise so any info would be greatly appreciated. also im quite confused as to pushrod sizes? rocker arms lifters...The car will be constantly beat on and over revved as it will be a drift car. I'm relatively new to v8s and i don't want to do anything wrong here. thanks for your time!
Old 05-04-2009, 04:42 PM
Launching!

humm, well. first off how much boost will it be running? Rocker arms you don't need the stock ones are pretty good ( atleast at that power level) push rods just go with some hardened ones the correct length.

what pistons will you go with? if your using stock displacement pistons i'd go 6.0 heads so you can get your compression ratio in the 9's if your going to knock on the rev limiter a lot i would probabaly go with some really good connecting rods.

have to tell us what YOU want. i know nothing about drifting really. what RPM do you plan to spin to?
Old 05-05-2009, 01:35 AM
Teching In